My Heart, It Goes Awandering

beautiful red heart background vector

I seem to have lost a little part of me
The part which hears His small, still voice
So I searched across oceans wide
In mountain depths, I have no choice

I seem to have lost a little part of me
The pool from which sweet joy, it flows
My heart, it goes awandering
Where it goes, only the Lord knows

I seem to have lost a little part of me
Where love fills me to completeness
I’ve turned my back on all that’s safe
Traded His truth for emptiness

I seem to have lost a little part of me
Where teardrops beat a path to fill
Where silence sounds so deafening
Where help seems so absent and still

I seem to have lost a little part of me
Maybe this trial has an ending
In times of impending defeat
’Tis only He, my heart mending

I seem to have found that vital part of me
That part that beats the tune of love
The only reason I found it
Letting go, it fell from above

© 2017 Liana Wendy Howarth

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

