Today, Sweet Mother, You Would Have Been 88

Mother and I.png

It’s been eight long years, years of Christmas chime
Some days tears of sadness, love, they still flow
A memory, moment, in missing time
Intense waves of emotion; but short though

Please know that I am still on this journey
Of uphill and downhill and uphill climbs
I would find comfort if you held my hand
But that won’t happen, in these present times

There will come a sweet day and we’ll hold hands
Look at each other, see love in our eyes
And that love will encompass all we shared
Safe with Father, as eternity flies

Remembering our hugs and all that you ever were to me dearest Mum.
I love you and will never forget you.

The reflection of heaven’s rose garden.

sky 1

Upon the branches of my heart
For you, this poem is written
The love you gave, the love you shared
The tenderness that softened

And on the paths that lead me there
Your footsteps are remembered
Guiding and advising me
You’ll never be forgotten

And on the leaves that bound my heart
My family life is written
Joy and pain, happiness and gain
The aroma will ever remind me

And on the petals of flowers found
Found wrapped around my heart
Sweet words of gentle encouragement
That trusted who I was

The aroma of those flowers linked
To leaves and branches and paths
Take me back to when you first left
Though not as often now
But the tears of dew that water my heart
Will always remember you

© 2010 – present Liana Wendy Howarth

4 thoughts on “Today, Sweet Mother, You Would Have Been 88”

  1. I understand. It has been 19 years since my own mother passed. I remember thinking at the time that mothers are not supposed to die. It was hard to comprehend her death and I still miss her deeply.

    Like

  2. Both of these poems are lovely, dear Liana.
    In the first poem/song what a lovely image you paint for us with your words of what our heavenly reunion will be like with those we love.
    “There will come a sweet day and we’ll hold hands/
    Look at each other, see love in our eyes/
    And that love will encompass all we shared/
    Safe with Father as eternity flies.”
    This is a very beautiful, comforting, though bittersweet psalm.
    Thank you for sharing your wonderful gift with us.
    May God continue to bless and inspire you more and more now & in the coming year. You are truly one of His shining lights, reflecting Christ’s love and truth in this ever darkening world.
    xo

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

