The Lord’s Cradle

For the next few weeks I will be re-posting from previous years entries. I pray that those who haven’t seen them will be blessed and that any re-reading them will also have their lives touched with joy.

The Lord's Cradle

You wrapped Your love in swaddling clothes
Deep within my heart
And sent with it joy, peace and hope
To a darkened, forlorn part

Yes, my heart and life were wandering
Oblivious of my plight
Until one divine, dark, lonely night
A lone star, to me, gave sight

Life eternal came with that bright light
To one who did not deserve
Oh! Wondrous gift that you have given me
Love’s cry was never heard

So unwrap that love, deep in my heart
May it fill me with pure thankfulness
And flow unto others in despair
Those in danger and hopelessness

And as the fullness of that gift
Sheds light within my days
May I be found in God’s temple
Sharing faith and all He says

My mother and my father
Anxiously look and search afar
I appear to have gone missing
But I’m following a perfect star

That perfect, guiding star
Leading me safely day by day
Light’s glory blessing my footsteps
And showing me His way

And when it’s time to be so still
And those close, just pass me by
I’ll remember my living Saviour
Whose life never passed most souls nigh

Then when all is perfect; but I think all is lost
That glorious, bright star appears once more
Lights others’ paths in emptiness
My words sharing His words, an endless store

I have given all that I have been given
I have lost all that He sacrificially lost
I have been found in Him who was crucified
Risen together, sharing love at all cost

© 2012 – present Liana Wendy Howarth

 

******* ******* *******

Wishing all of my dear sweet friends whom have been with me throughout my blogging history a beautiful, safe, blessed Christmas and New Year. May the Lord grant you the desires of your heart for yourself and your loved ones. Thank you so very, very much … I am so thankful to God for Him placing you across my path xxx

 

10 thoughts on “The Lord’s Cradle

  1. Liana, “And when it’s time to be so still…” really spoke to me today. It doesn’t matter if we are passed by since He will never leave us. Your picture is so beautiful. We are blessed to be wrapped in His love that never passes us by.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your prayers and well wishes Betty Jo … May 2014 be a blessed year for you also … and may we be blessed with more of your beautiful writing … sending hugs across the seas xxx

      Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

