A PERSONAL QUESTION AND HOPEFUL RESPONSE

The Freedom Bird

Will it be
That I
Will be
Left Behind
In life’s shadow
Where birds
No longer sing
And the breeze
Brings no refreshment
Where darkness
Only reigns
And light
No longer penetrates
Where loved ones’ voices
Are no longer heard
I’m alone
Alone and trapped
The door has closed
The heat
Intensifies
No escape
Lord, please
Help me
I don’t want
To be labelled
Labelled with a barcode
Where my price
Is visible to all who see
Please open the door
One last time
Set me free
’Tis only
The price
You paid
That I want
All to see

© 2015 Liana Wendy Howarth

John 3:16
For God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.

Matthew 11:28
Come unto Me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

4 thoughts on “A PERSONAL QUESTION AND HOPEFUL RESPONSE”

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

