The Beauty of Psalm 23

flock of sheep sheep group
I thank you Lord for memories
This very day, all that it holds
For every welcome tomorrow
For life itself, each breath I take
And all that You’ve given to me
You’ve blessed me with more, so much more
Than I deserve or dare to dream

’Cause when I call, You will answer
You are my heavenly Shepherd
I walk lovingly at Your side
You lay me down in pastures green
Tiny patch to broadest meadow
Beside still waters midst the storm
Dark turmoil turned to crystal stream

And Your love for me delivers
My soul is wonderfully restored
From the depths of deepest despair
You lead where no one else can go
Pure righteousness, it permeates
Peace in sight of Your rod and staff
No fear of the enemy’s scheme

My unchanging One, whom I love
You lay tables of sweet plenty
Anoint my head with precious oil
I watch, it overflows others
Immersed in goodness and mercy
Lead me forth to eternal home
Forever lost in Your eyes’ gleam

I thank you Lord for memories
This very day and all that it holds
For every welcome tomorrow
For life itself, each breath I take
And all that You’ve given to me
You’ve blessed me with more, so much more
Than I deserve or dare to dream

© 2015 Liana Wendy Howarth

Psalm 23
1 The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.
2 He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: He leadeth me beside the still waters.
3 He restoreth my soul: He leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake.
4 Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for Thou art with me; Thy rod and Thy staff they comfort me.
5 Thou preparest a table before me in the presence of mine enemies: Thou anointest my head with oil; my cup runneth over.
6 Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life: and I will dwell in the house of the Lord for ever.

One thought on “The Beauty of Psalm 23”

  1. Here is something we would do well to sing throughout the day: “I thank you Lord for memories
    This very day, all that it holds
    For every welcome tomorrow
    For life itself, each breath I take
    And all that You’ve given to me
    You’ve blessed me with more, so much more
    Than I deserve or dare to dream”

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

