PRAISING IN DARKNESS … UPDATE FOLLOWING AUSTRALIAN EARTHQUAKES

Vacant Prison Cell clip art

Yesterday, I posted “Praising in Darkness” song lyrics based on Acts 16:24-25.

Well I should have included verse 26.
“And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.”

I had placed it in the lyrics; but didn’t add it to the bottom of the post with the other two scripture verses.

Originally I had scheduled the post to appear at 9 am next Tuesday as I admit I try to put it up when I hope most of my American readers (majority of my followers) will be awake. (Trying to bring glory to myself ??? … forgive me Lord) Anyway, I was prompted to post yesterday instead (my reasoning at the time was that the Lord gave me the lyrics and someone, somewhere might need them now or very soon. Who am I to keep them stored until I think it’s the right time! Little did I know that person was to be me or maybe any other of my Australian followers along the Queensland coast).

A few things this has taught me:-
1. When the Lord gives you something for sharing, share it. It’s not for safe-keeping.

2. Don’t focus on one verse here or there, watch for the flow of scripture. Don’t just stop reading when you think that’s all there is to be read on that particular subject. In the Bible I was using at the time, man had placed a bold heading between verses 25 and 26 so I guess my eyes were automatically focused on verse 25 being the end of that part of the story. Presumption.

3. Don’t feed fear. I admit that even though I know I mustn’t fear, it’s something I do struggle with. I know it is not from God and that He hasn’t given it to me. I don’t receive it in Jesus Name.

2 Timothy 1:7 “For God hath not given us the spirit of fear; but of power, and of love, and of a sound mind.”

Last night I fed fear. On retiring, I surfed the web for anything I could find about the earthquakes. News, earthquake data sites etc etc reading man’s viewpoint on how we should expect more in our area, and his opinions on the same; but thinking it was good to be informed … meanwhile feeling more and more stressed. Realizing that the information was affecting me and making me feel worse, I closed down the computer and started praying (again). The Lord reminded me about a video on fear that had just started playing on the website of a ministry I belong to http://www.beinhealth.com. I was able to watch a small amount of it and in doing so felt the Lord’s peace settle upon me and fear vanish.

I am so pleased that God is in control and I am safe in His hands and that by faith I can place my loved ones in His care also.

I pray that Acts 16:25b will manifest in the lives of those who are in prison anywhere. Physically, emotionally and/or spiritually. That you will hear the praise and prayers lifted, especially during your time of trial/affliction/darkness. God bless all who read this.

Here are the lyrics again with the complete scripture I was given to write them with.

PRAISING IN DARKNESS
Chorus
Thrown into the darkness through the deepest prison door
I’m crying out to God for help, please help, I cannot do this anymore
My feet are bound, I can’t move forth, hope sinks to the floor
But then sweet praise, it rises, to the One I adore

It’s so, so dark
The light has gone
Doesn’t matter
How dark the storm

I won’t be scared
He’s here with me
In dark turmoil
Or calming sea

Chorus
Thrown into the darkness through the deepest prison door
I’m crying out to God for help, please help, I cannot do this anymore
My feet are bound, I can’t move forth, hope sinks to the floor
But then sweet praise, it rises, to the One I adore

The door has closed
Nothing is clear
But His word says
I must not fear

How long, how long
Till heaven’s key
Unlocks the door
And sets me free

Bridge
Praising in darkness
I’ll pray and I’ll sing
Glory and honour
To Jesus my King
Glory and honour
I’ll pray and I’ll sing
Praising in darkness
My voice, love will sing

And until then
I’ll sing, sing, sing
Mountains will move
Bow to the King

Once held captive
Door opens wide
Finally free
Freedom inside

Chorus
Thrown into the darkness through the deepest prison door
I’m crying out to God for help, please help, I cannot do this anymore
My feet are bound, I can’t move forth, hope sinks to the floor
But then sweet praise, it rises, to the One I adore

© 2015 Liana Wendy Howarth

Acts 16
24 Who, having received such a charge, thrust them into the inner prison, and made their feet fast in the stocks.
25 And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them.
26 And suddenly there was a great earthquake, so that the foundations of the prison were shaken: and immediately all the doors were opened, and every one’s bands were loosed.

6 thoughts on “PRAISING IN DARKNESS … UPDATE FOLLOWING AUSTRALIAN EARTHQUAKES”

  1. Thank you for this lovely song and message, precious Liana. It truly encouraged my heart as tonight was the first opportunity I have had to read your latest post. Thank you so much for sharing this! Praise our wonderful Lord Jesus for the beautiful gift of song and biblical insights He has given you to share with us! Your life is a beautiful blessing~Suzanne xx

    Like

  2. It is a very short trip from your helpful words to Philippians chapter 4. Thanks Liana. And about the natural disasters…Jesus acknowledged that they might come to all. But what is the foundation and what is the indomitable hope (Matthew 7)?

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

