HE LAY ROSE PETALS UPON MY HEART (A Song of A Healed Heart)

red heart petal
Chorus
He lay rose petals
Upon my heart
Lay them gently
Not far apart
Perfect love
In fragrance dwelt
Left no room
For hopelessness
’Cause with every secret
Of darkness, He dealt
Oh! Jesus, every secret
Of darkness, He felt

All I could see were the dark, dark thorns
That hurt and tore at my Saviour’s heart
But He placed beauty and love in me
He lay rose petals upon my heart

All I could see were the tears He shed
Mingled with crimson in night-time day
Shed for each life ever created
Washing our sins and sorrows away

Chorus
He lay rose petals
Upon my heart
Lay them gently
Not far apart
Perfect love
In fragrance dwelt
Left no room
For hopelessness
’Cause with every secret
Of darkness, He dealt
Oh! Jesus, every secret
Of darkness, He felt

All I could see was my reflection
In eyes crying for His Father’s love
I’m so sorry, my Lord, Redeemer
I lift praises ’cause You’re now above

All I could see was pure emotion
Of Someone who’d always cared for me
What happened, happened, didn’t have to
But if it hadn’t, where would I be?

Bridge
Rose petals upon my broken heart
Have brought a peace and softness
Beautiful shades of heaven’s joy, a
Rose petal garden captivated

Chorus
He lay rose petals
Upon my heart
Lay them gently
Not far apart
Perfect love
In fragrance dwelt
Left no room
For hopelessness
’Cause with every secret
Of darkness, He dealt
Oh! Jesus, every secret
Of darkness, He felt

© 2015 – current Liana Wendy Howarth

6 thoughts on “HE LAY ROSE PETALS UPON MY HEART (A Song of A Healed Heart)”

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

