I DON’T WANT TO BE LIKE MARTHA ANYMORE

Praying Girl

Chorus
I don’t want to be like Martha
Anymore, anymore, anymore
I don’t want to be like Martha
Captive to every fear and chore
I just want to be like Mary
At Jesus’ feet upon the floor
I just want to be like Mary
And listen at heaven’s healing door

Draw me to Thy voice
Draw me to Thy word
Draw me to the sweetest thing
These ears have ever heard

Close my eyes to see
Close my mouth to speak
Close every door open
Strengthen all that is weak

Chorus
I don’t want to be like Martha
Anymore, anymore, anymore
I don’t want to be like Martha
Captive to every fear and chore
I just want to be like Mary
At Jesus’ feet upon the floor
I just want to be like Mary
And listen at heaven’s healing door

Only in You is peace
Only in You is joy
Only You can love release
And turn all hatred’s ploy

Guide me to my place
Guide me to Thy feet
Guide away from all that takes
My heart from Thy heartbeat

Chorus
I don’t want to be like Martha
Anymore, anymore, anymore
I don’t want to be like Martha
Captive to every fear and chore
I just want to be like Mary
At Jesus’ feet upon the floor
I just want to be like Mary
And listen at heaven’s healing door

© 2015 Liana Wendy Howarth

Luke 10 KJV
38 Now it came to pass, as they went, that He entered into a certain village: and a certain woman named Martha received Him into her house.

39 And she had a sister called Mary, which also sat at Jesus’ feet, and heard His word.

40 But Martha was cumbered about much serving, and came to Him, and said, Lord, dost Thou not care that my sister hath left me to serve alone? bid her therefore that she help me.

41 And Jesus answered and said unto her, Martha, Martha, thou art careful and troubled about many things:

42 But one thing is needful: and Mary hath chosen that good part, which shall not be taken away from her.

4 thoughts on “I DON’T WANT TO BE LIKE MARTHA ANYMORE”

  1. “Guide me to my place
    Guide me to Thy feet
    Guide away from all that takes
    My heart from Thy heartbeat”

    Oh, YES, Liana – I don’t want to be like Martha anymore!!! I think I will be singing this in my heart and head for the next few weeks! Amen, dear friend – Amen!
    ~Maryleigh

    Liked by 1 person

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

