WHEN HURT CAN HURT NO MORE (A Song of Encouragement When a Relationship Ends)

WHEN HURT CAN HURT NO MORE

WHEN HURT CAN HURT NO MORE
Every time you leave, you leave
A thorn within my heart
But time and memories restore
What love has torn apart

Chorus
When hurt can hurt no more, no more
When hurt’s had its final say, go away
You cannot hurt me anymore, anymore
‘Cause this heart grows stronger every day

It used to be I’d hang on to
The sweetness of your words
But then I realized the truth
Reality was heard

Chorus
When hurt can hurt no more, no more
When hurt’s had its final say, go away
You cannot hurt me anymore, anymore
‘Cause this heart grows stronger every day

When you told me that you loved me
I saw it in your eyes
I had fallen deeply, so deep
Believed in all your lies

Chorus
When hurt can hurt no more, no more
When hurt’s had its final say, go away
You cannot hurt me anymore, anymore
‘Cause this heart grows stronger every day

And then you were gone, no goodbye
Another love worn crime
The thorn tore at my healed heart
Tore it for the last time

You may have left; but you’re not forgotten
You may have broken me once too often
You may have thought I was worthless, a game
But one day love’s hurt, your heart, will tame

Once I was defeated, so hurt
Ripped apart, so unsure
But now my heart’s free with new love
And hurt can hurt no more

Oh! Hurt can hurt no more, no more
Hurt can hurt no more

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

 

6 thoughts on “WHEN HURT CAN HURT NO MORE (A Song of Encouragement When a Relationship Ends)”

  1. Congratulations, Liana 🙂 you can really sense the rawness of those tender emotions, with a thread of our Lord’s Grace weaving through bringing comfort, strength, and healing.

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

