DON’T LOOK BACK (A Song of Encouragement)

DON'T LOOK BACK

What’s the use of reminiscing
If the memories break your heart
Let go ‘cause Jesus always has you
And He won’t let you fall apart
O no He won’t let you fall apart

Chorus
So don’t look back
If it grieves you so
Know that all of your pain
And sorrow
Into His heart
At the cross did flow
Push through in His strength
No matter how slow
Let go, let go, let go

Today’s tomorrow’s yesterday
So live each moment passing through
Not as a rose, wilted and scentless
But with love in all that you do
O infuse love in all that you do

Chorus
So don’t look back
If it grieves you so
Know that all of your pain
And sorrow
Into His heart
At the cross did flow
Push through in His strength
No matter how slow
Let go, let go, let go

Yes, it’s painfully hard I know
To turn off repeat and press play
It often hurts without much warning
And can hamper a healing way
Don’t let it hamper a healed way

Bridge
Don’t look back
You’re on the right track
And Jesus has cleared the way
Just trust Him to use the tears you’ve shed
To water sweet flowers that have sprung up to stay

Chorus
So don’t look back
If it grieves you so
Know that all of your pain
And sorrow
Into His heart
At the cross did flow
Push through in His strength
No matter how slow
Let go, let go, let go

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

8 thoughts on “DON’T LOOK BACK (A Song of Encouragement)”

  1. I needed to read those words tonight. Thankyou also for your beautiful comment on my post. I have been hurting a lot this week as I have gotten stuck in a rut pining over the lost friendship I referred to in “Regretful Goodbye”. Also struggling with feeling forgotten by a number of close friends and suffering some CFS symptoms which seem to have appeared out of nowhere – concerned it has to do with my reduction of antidepressants (as I get closer to the finish line (early December) I am both happy and scared!

    Like

    1. Praise God for His perfect ‘link ups’ at the perfect time. May the Lord fill you with His comfort, pour His healing virtue in and through you and release you from any fear regarding your situation and/or medications. I can, to a certain degree, understand how you are feeling Merryn and it’s not a pleasant place is it … sometimes life/friends move forward and ‘leave us behind’ because of circumstances/trials we are placed in or find ourselves in … and it can be very lonely and at times sad and leave us questioning many things; but the Lord knows our hearts/our needs/our fears/our pain over this loss and He will bring summertime yellows out of wintertime blues. God bless you and I pray you will feel His loving peace surround all that you hold dear.

      Like

      1. Thankyou so so much for your loving words. I feel as though I have a network of support given to me as a gift through blogging – I never thought it possible and I am learning to look at the blessings God gives me as good and perfect and not at all “wrong” – He knows best and He gives me what is best, not what I necessarily thought was best :). Thankyou for your prayers – I certainly need them. It is particularly scary when I have had dependable support in friendship/ practical ways and it suddenly disappears — so important for me to lean on God and not place all my hope in that which can fail.

        Like

        1. Thanks Merryn. Hugs. Sometimes one feels so utterly alone; but it’s then that you feel His arms wrap around you and know that peace that only He can give. It’s so easy to miss that moment when the busyness of life and on the go, go, go prevails. He yearns for our quiet times together and He needs us to do likewise. It’s a very humbling, beautiful experience.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I’m sure this can speak to the heart of countless people. We all have a bad memory tucked somewhere in the back of our minds. We need to be reminded to “Let go and let God.”

    Like

    1. I’m am so blessed to call you friend Kathleen and I thank the Lord that our paths have crossed. Thank you so much and yes, we must let go and let God. What’s the use of continually taking back that what we have given Him, each time I’m sure what we try and fix ourselves, increases in oppressing us more.

      Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

