LONG BEFORE I KNEW (A Song of Forgiveness)

Long Before I KnewLong before I knew
You loved me in Your heart
You hid me deep within
The knowledge, that we would never part

Chorus
I weep because I never knew that I was lost, confused
I weep because You had to search for me in darkest dream still left untold
I weep … You wept … Our tears they mingled in
The bottle of Your secret love
And Your grace lay captive within

I didn’t know Your Name
Or what You’d done for me
I didn’t see the pain
Etched on that crimson tree

Chorus
I weep because I never knew that I was lost, confused
I weep because You had to search for me in darkest dream still left untold
I weep … You wept … Our tears they mingled in
The bottle of Your secret love
And Your grace lay captive within

My plans did not include
Eternal plans, just mine, just mine … I’m fine
I walked the world treasured path
Until You placed Your feet with mine

Chorus
I weep because I never knew that I was lost, confused
I weep because You had to search for me in darkest dream still left untold
I weep … You wept … Our tears they mingled in
The bottle of Your secret love
And Your grace lay captive within

And then You set me free
And scarred hands led sheltered way
I didn’t know how much You loved me
Till my night way turned to day

Chorus
I wept because I never knew that I was lost, confused
I wept because You found me in darkest dream no longer left untold
My chains through the furnace have been
Your tears have quenched the burning fire
My chains are now the King’s possession
Set forever in Your crown of gold

© 2013 – present Liana Wendy Howarth

2 thoughts on “LONG BEFORE I KNEW (A Song of Forgiveness)

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

