LOOK INTO MY HEART (A Song of Surrender)

82 Roses (2)

“But the Lord said unto Samuel, Look not on his countenance, or on the height of his stature; because I have refused him: for the Lord seeth not as man seeth; for man looketh on the outward appearance, but the Lord looketh on the heart.” 1 Samuel 16:7 KJV

LOOK INTO MY HEART

My heart is laid before You
And I don’t like what I see
Years of pleasure on my own highway
I can’t imagine what You will see
No I can’t imagine what You’ll see

Chorus
Look into my heart Lord Jesus
Forgive all that it reveals
All that brings You no glory
All that the Holy Spirit seals

‘Cause You look upon my heart
And purge me of all my sin
O You look beyond the raw surface
And go deeper where no love has been
Yes go deeper where no love has been

Chorus
Look into my heart Lord Jesus
Forgive all that it reveals
All that brings You no glory
All that the Holy Spirit seals

There in my heart You’ll find me
Lost and bewildered and alone
Waiting for true love so blindly
To lead me tenderly home
O Lord please lead me tenderly home

Chorus
Look into my heart Lord Jesus
Forgive all that it reveals
All that brings You no glory
All that the Holy Spirit seals

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

6 thoughts on “LOOK INTO MY HEART (A Song of Surrender)

    • Thank you Anne … sometimes the hardest thing is the receiving … we may not feel worthy, we may try and return it, we may have trouble accepting the gift … only the Lord can change our heart. He is our Creator and He knows all. God bless.

      Like

      • No doubt you believe what God tells us in Scripture Liana, just one example being…I know I was not born with God’s wisdom so He tells me to ask for it and I did and I received it, see below, I also Posted a message about this Truth Liana and will leave the link for you too, it may help to explain why King David had the assurance he had which we can have too because God tells us we can.

        James 15: If any of you lack wisdom, let him/her ask of God, that giveth to all men liberally, and upbraideth not; and it shall be given him. But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering. For he that wavereth is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed. For let not that man think that he shall receive any thing of the Lord. A double minded man is unstable in all his ways.

        Proverbs 2:6-7 For the Lord giveth wisdom: out of His mouth cometh knowledge and understanding.He layeth up sound wisdom for the righteous: He is a buckler to them that walk uprightly.

        Proverbs 4:7 Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting get understanding.

        Wisdom – http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/2011/11/16/the-gaining-of-wisdom/

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

        • Sorry Anne … I was generalizing in my last comment, not relating to wisdom. I just meant that sometimes we have trouble accepting His gifts with child-like faith because we try and complicate things.

          Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

