‘TWAS THE STORMIEST OF NIGHTS (A Song for the Roughest of Days)

'TWAS THE STORMIEST OF NIGHTS

Please read yesterday’s post first https://poetrycottage.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/today-the-crying-heart-is-mine/ because today’s post contains the song lyrics the Lord gave me at the end of a very difficult day. He always delivers those who cry out to Him.

“O magnify the Lord with me, and let us exalt his name together.
I sought the Lord, and he heard me, and delivered me from all my fears.”  Psalm 34:3-4 KJV

Read the rest of this beautiful Psalm here http://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Psalm+34&version=KJV

T’WAS THE STORMIEST OF NIGHTS (A Song for the Roughest of Days)
‘Twas the stormiest of nights
As black as black could be
I fain was near, my fight to lose
Till my Saviour rescued me

Nary stars a-shining, no not one
The waves grew higher still
But then a voice I knew full well
Reassured me of God’s will

I searched all round; but could not see
“Rest assured”, He said, “All’s well”
And even though I saw Him not
My fears He did assuage and quell

Chorus
O I surrendered every heartbeat
I surrendered and He stepped right in
I surrendered all that I thought sustained me
Only then was I guaranteed to win
Only then was I guaranteed to win

No matter how hot the fiery trial
No matter how much pain, despair
I always know He is in complete control
I always know He’s forever there

Chorus
O I surrendered every heartbeat
I surrendered and He stepped right in
I surrendered all that I thought sustained me
Only then was I guaranteed to win
Only then was I guaranteed to win

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

Fain – obliged, constrained, willing
Nary – not a one
Assuage – help, relieve, ease, alleviate

4 thoughts on “‘TWAS THE STORMIEST OF NIGHTS (A Song for the Roughest of Days)”

  1. To all my blessed friends who comment and those who read and don’t … I just want you to know how very much I appreciate your love, compassion and prayers … am so happy it is blessing you as well. I won’t reply individually as still pretty weary; but the Lord has brought me through. Praise Him. Praise His Holy Name. All throughout yesterday I felt His presence … today I feel it still but it is even more ‘highlighted’ because I can feel His peace through your love as well. Thank you once again.

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

