Does Anyone Know Why the Word ‘Surrender’ Does Not Appear in Many Versions including the KJV? … Hope I Worded That Right

Surrender
‘Surrender’ is my ‘focus’ word this year … Oh how I need the Lord … so hard to surrender to being surrendered. To surrender to surrendering. Only the One who surrendered to the agony of the Cross can achieve this in my life.

I cannot believe that after all these years I have only just realized that the word ‘surrender’ does not appear in the KJV or many other versions. There is so much talk of surrendering our lives to the Lord … why isn’t it in some versions?

I welcome any thoughts or knowledge … any wisdom regarding this. Thank you.

* * * * * * *

Total Surrender

Peter began to say to Him, ’See, we have left all and followed You’ —Mark 10:28

Our Lord replies to this statement of Peter by saying that this surrender is “for My sake and the gospel’s” (10:29). It was not for the purpose of what the disciples themselves would get out of it. Beware of surrender that is motivated by personal benefits that may result. For example, “I’m going to give myself to God because I want to be delivered from sin, because I want to be made holy.” Being delivered from sin and being made holy are the result of being right with God, but surrender resulting from this kind of thinking is certainly not the true nature of Christianity. Our motive for surrender should not be for any personal gain at all. We have become so self-centered that we go to God only for something from Him, and not for God Himself. It is like saying, “No, Lord, I don’t want you; I want myself. But I do want You to clean me and fill me with Your Holy Spirit. I want to be on display in Your showcase so I can say, ’This is what God has done for me.’ ” Gaining heaven, being delivered from sin, and being made useful to God are things that should never even be a consideration in real surrender. Genuine total surrender is a personal sovereign preference for Jesus Christ Himself.

Where does Jesus Christ figure in when we have a concern about our natural relationships? Most of us will desert Him with this excuse—”Yes, Lord, I heard you call me, but my family needs me and I have my own interests. I just can’t go any further” (see Luke 9:57-62). “Then,” Jesus says, “you ’cannot be My disciple’ ” (see Luke 14:26-33).

True surrender will always go beyond natural devotion. If we will only give up, God will surrender Himself to embrace all those around us and will meet their needs, which were created by our surrender. Beware of stopping anywhere short of total surrender to God. Most of us have only a vision of what this really means, but have never truly experienced it.

Total Surrender

* * * * * * *

Below is one of my early poems … written 23/06/2002

SURRENDER
Why is it
That the stream is flowing
One way
In my body
But I know I’m travelling
The wrong way?
Like the salmon
I push on
In the other direction
And even though
God planned
The salmon’s path
I guess I think
I’m travelling my path
On my terms
When I want to
And I believed
That it didn’t matter which way
As long as I travelled one way
Along my chosen path
Except my path is fraught with turmoil
And God’s path is mixed with blessings.

Which way should I choose?
I must choose the right way
……. God’s way
And let Him guide my path His way.

Let me surrender like that salmon
And flow in peace, the right way
The only way
Swimming in God’s river of love.

© 2002/2013 Liana Wendy Howarth

12 thoughts on “Does Anyone Know Why the Word ‘Surrender’ Does Not Appear in Many Versions including the KJV? … Hope I Worded That Right”

  1. Whether mentioned or not, surrender is certainly implied. And it is a daily and very hard thing to do, but then this life is a learning journey that gives us plenty of opportunities to be successful. I sure hope so. Blessings, Natalie 🙂

    Like

  2. While the word “surrender” is not in the KJV text, the principle is throughout the entire Word. Yielding, submitting and dying to self are all types of surrender. To surrender is to let go of our dreams, expectations and prideful ways and accept God’s will for our lives, no matter what that may be. It’s also important to note that this type of surrender is not a one-time thing but must take place day after day, hour after hour. It is the constant affirmation of “Not my will, but thine be done.” And I assure you, it’s not easy!

    Like

  3. I had no idea. I too just looked it up in Strong’s. Maybe the words “yield” and “submit” are used instead in the KJV. I know they are there, but didn’t have time to look at each scripture to see if they are used interchangeably. I love the word “surrender”, and your poem.

    Like

  4. I checked you out on this Liana, with my big old Strong’s Concordance. Nope no “surrender”. Quite surprising. But then in surrender there may often be 5th columns and scheming for insurrection. Better the term “dying to self”. Yep, that Another might be raised in me. Putting on the New Man (Colossians).

    Like

    1. “Dying to self … Another might be raised in me” … Amen Doug … thank you. Maybe that’s why we find surrendering so difficult … it could be thought of as a ‘negative’ and our inner man fights against it, rather than giving one’s self in love to the One who has done so much for us and flooded our lives with His love. It shouldn’t be an effort … we love Him because He first loved us.

      Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

