WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHED MY HEART (A Song of Deliverance)

WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHED MY HEART

I wandered round the darkened streets
The sun was shining brightly
My heart, it held no loving glow
Though I knew something was burning deeply
And the more it burned, it hurt, it hurt
The darkness encapsulated my very being
And my breath, it refused to flow

I cried out for help; but no-one stopped
They heard my voice; but their eyes, they closed
My tears fell and concealed the hollow
Upon the walkway of life
The fragments of a time now broken
I couldn’t see and my strength departed
I needed help and someone to love and follow

Chorus
And I’d heard of someone who cleansed with His tears
Someone who could release me from all of my fears
He’d pierced the darkness with a bloodstained dart
And now eternity waited to touch my heart
The Light of eternity waited to touch my heart

There was silence; but I heard them talking
Silence and time passed without me
I looked up and suddenly the Son shone
He scattered the darkness, called my name
As only He could have known it
For I was in a strange city
A city of conviction
No-one else saw my heart’s desperation
He called … I shed my last tear
He filled it with heaven’s love
And that’s when eternity, sweet eternity
Touched and captured my burning heart

Chorus
Oh! He cleansed the way with His tears
Released me from all of my fears
Pierced the darkness with a bloodstained dart
And now eternity’s touched my heart
The Light of eternity, He’s touched my heart

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

Title of this song inspired by words written on http://igerenezek.wordpress.com/2012/03/07/just-a-few-words-about-me/ and used with permission. Thank you once again.

4 thoughts on “WHEN ETERNITY TOUCHED MY HEART (A Song of Deliverance)”

  1. Thank you – praise God, it is so beautiful! And for some reason you have managed to capture exactly what I was in my heart just before the Lord’s surpassing grace has found me. How did you know it? 🙂
    …That touch of eternity – you have captured it so beautifully and in such an inspired way. Thank you! May this poem be a blessing to many people, to the glory of our God!
    Have a blessed weekend. God bless you.

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for such a beautiful comment … how did I know it? … inspired by Holy Spirit … must admit a dear friend commented on it after I sent it to him and he said he thought it was something I had been through/going through at the moment … I re-read it and the tears started rolling … the Lord has such an amazing way of comforting us, each in His own precious time. It’s been lovely ‘talking’ with you … sending blessings your way.

      Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

