Rescued But Still Needy

Rescued But Still Needy

Maybe many of you know this
But the Lord showed me something today
That even when He draws near us
The troubles may still be in the way

Oh! I know all about walking in fire
And how He lovingly shields us within
But today when I read about Peter
Here lies more treasure for us to win

For you see when He cried out “Lord save me”
The precious Saviour, His hand did reach
But there’s a little word that comes soon after
The word, ‘when’ and oh! how this can teach

For immediately He did rescue him
But it wasn’t until into the boat, they were
That the boisterous seas a-calmed
And the waves with His peace did a-stir

Yes, He comes to you in troubles
And helps you to see them through
So don’t always expect instantaneous release
Just know that He’s holding and protecting you

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

“And in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went unto them, walking on the sea.
And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, It is a spirit; and they cried out for fear.
But straightway Jesus spake unto them, saying, Be of good cheer; it is I; be not afraid.
And Peter answered Him and said, Lord, if it be Thou, bid me come unto Thee on the water.
And He said, Come. And when Peter was come down out of the ship, he walked on the water, to go to Jesus.
But when he saw the wind boisterous, he was afraid; and beginning to sink, he cried, saying, Lord, save me.
And immediately Jesus stretched forth His hand, and caught him, and said unto him, O thou of little faith, wherefore didst thou doubt?
And when they were come into the ship, the wind ceased.
Then they that were in the ship came and worshipped Him, saying, Of a truth Thou art the Son of God.”
Matthew 14:25-33 KJV

12 thoughts on “Rescued But Still Needy”

    1. Brooke, thank you so much for your encouraging comment. I must admit I was having a ‘selfish’ ‘wonder if it’s all worth it’ sort of day re blog writing. Our precious Lord has taken what He gave me though and blessed you and for that I am so thankful. It is all about God. His gifts to us are not given to be kept; but set free to fill the needs in others lives. Sometimes I wish the stat page would disappear. Is that even possible :-)! Probably not, it’s called taking my eyes off me and placing them on the Lord.

      Dearest Brooke, I pray the Lord would deliver you from any pain, anxiety or sadness that you are suffering. May He strengthen you, as only He can strengthen. May He fill you to overflowing with His peace. In Jesus Name, Amen.

      Like

      1. Thank you for your kind prayer. It made my day! I think we all have those days when we question our purpose but God always makes sure to remind us right when we need it that touching one person is just as meaningful as touching many. Keep up the great work! It’s wonderful stuff. Really helped my get through this hard time. 🙂

        Like

        1. Thank you so much Brooke … it takes me back to my prayer that if but one person is touched by what He has given me, I am blessed and He is glorified … trouble is, I keep forgetting don’t I !!!!! … Praying problems/symptoms have eased for you xxx

          Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

