WHY DID YOU LOOK AWAY (A Song of Conviction)

WHY DID YOU LOOK AWAY

Why did you look away
As you stood at the foot of the cross
I needed you to love Me, love Me
Yet you turned when My eyes captured yours
You turned when My eyes captured yours

Chorus
Oh! Child Oh! Child
I did not let you down
I hung there and was drained of love
I hung there and was crucified
No I did not let you down
I even wore for you a crown

Why did you speak so angrily
As you stood at the foot of the cross
I needed you to be by my side
Yet you joined the mockers and jeered
You joined the mockers and jeered

Chorus
Oh! Child Oh! Child
I did not let you down
I hung there and was drained of love
I hung there and was crucified
No I did not let you down
I even wore for you a crown

Why did you even come to watch
And stand at the foot of the cross
I needed a friend, there were so few
Yet you encouraged your friends and abuse flew
You encouraged your friends and abuse flew

But My love did not stop flowing
Just because your heart rejected mine
No, My love did not stop flowing
Just because your heart rejected mine

Oh! Jesus Oh! Jesus
Forgive me Lord, I pray
It was I, it was I
It was I who let you down
Yet You touched my heart
And did Your love impart
My eyes You opened
And now I see, it was You
It was You, it was You all along
It was You

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

2 thoughts on “WHY DID YOU LOOK AWAY (A Song of Conviction)”

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

