One Day at a Time

One Day at a Time

Couldn’t see in front of me,
Travelling along the dusty road,
Couldn’t see behind, either,
Only saw enough of my daily load.

Why should I worry,
If I couldn’t see,
Anywhere else, except,
Directly around me?

If I moved forward,
My day moved too,
If I moved backwards,
So did my view.

Dusty; but like a bubble,
No matter how far,
I went this way or that way,
Clear vision stayed only, around my car.

You’d think I’d panic,
Not being able to see ahead,
Or behind, and I would have,
If I knew I wasn’t being led.

Led by light, surrounding me,
Led by comfort, cushioning me,
Led by hope, enveloping me,
Led by knowing His love for me.

Knowing that I had been given,
Just enough light to see,
Enough of my life,
To cope with, easily.

For if I had been given,
My future to review,
And my past was still with me,
Each day wouldn’t seem as new.

And can you imagine,
Knowing what’s going to happen,
On the dusty road ahead,
Knowing what might not happen?

I would probably try and change,
People, surroundings and me,
Things I didn’t like the look of,
Things I didn’t care to see.

But then I wouldn’t have turned out,
The way I had been planned,
My bubble would have loudly burst,
And my safe life, broken and banned.

So, I have come to the conclusion,
That I’ll stay inside my day,
(Safe and sound and protected),
Aware that I’m not alone to face,
Whatever comes my way!

© 2012 Liana Wendy Howarth

(in my e-book “Fragrance from the Spring”)

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

