The Unfulfilled Rose – Sadness as Blossoms Fall and Lie in Falling Tears

Shattered in the Rain Over the last week or so, I have been peering out of our bay window on waking, to see my beautiful ‘English Rose’ blossoming before my very eyes and being in awe, once again, of the perfect work of my Lord and Saviour. This is one of two David Austin roses that I recently bought and I was so excited to see the finished rose.

Shattered in the Rain 2We’ve been having soft; but steady rain for quite a while now and the rose continued to break forth and grasp as much sunlight as possible.

Shattered in the Rain 3Words cannot describe this gorgeous bloom laced with scent from heaven.

Shattered in the Rain 4Sadly, the rain was bruising the underside (sorry I’m not technical in botanical terms).

Shattered in the Rain 5But each morning brought with it another stunning image.

Shattered in the Rain 6Really starting to open up now. I’m in love.

Shattered in the Rain 7So many petals on one sweet flower and the colour, divine.

Shattered in the Rain 8But the rain was taking its toll on the dear, little one.

Shattered in the Rain 9And this morning I awoke to a broken sight.

Shattered in the Rain 10My heart broke. Perfection, beauty lay fallen upon the ground.

Shattered in the Rain 11The creaminess had become a soft shade of lemon. Crushed. Compacted in pain.

Shattered in the Rain 13This is all that remains. Remnants of torn petals for which I feel much sadness and yes, guilt.

Shattered in the Rain 14For you see, a few days ago, I took the damaged petals from the rose. I had to tear them off. I feel that I have in some way contributed to the rose’s demise. It was unable to hold all of heaven’s tears and unable to take it any longer, it just gave up and surrendered to what it knew it couldn’t control.

 

I had even written a poem :-

“Such a silly thing I did today

I tried to take imperfection away

I prayed the Lord, He wouldn’t take

The beauty of the rose at stake”

 

But by tearing away what I thought was something that was marring its beauty, was in reality actually holding it’s very existence together.

Yes, I know there will be some of you that think I am totally exaggerating; but I see amazing stories and spiritual truths in God’s creation and being able to capture them with the camera is a blessing.

We grow stronger with our trials. With pain. With tears. With anything that makes us feel like we can’t go on.

Jesus is the only One who can hold us together.

Tearing Him from our lives is devastating.

Maybe not now.

But one day.

God bless all who read this.

 

4 thoughts on “The Unfulfilled Rose – Sadness as Blossoms Fall and Lie in Falling Tears”

  1. What a gorgeous colour of rose. Lovely poem also! and don’t feel too sad, now the ground looks pretty as well 😉

    Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

