‘Childhood Memories of England’ in “Fragrance from the Spring”

Little Robin in Snow
‘As I write this, I am all grown up,
But they still remain with me,
The memories of England,
Even though I’m all grown up.

White Christmas, holly and cousins,
Presents and laughter,
Seasons that change,
And pocket money in tins.

Sitting on Nana’s bed,
So high in the air,
Counting my fortune,
Enough of that said.

Snowdrops and daffodils,
A baby lamb in my arms,
Not soft like it looks,
Squares of hay on the hills.

Little thatched cottages,
Rose gardens and rakes,
Cobbled lanes,
My life in different stages.

But most of all,
I remember the snow,
The soft falling of snow,
On our trees so tall.

Snowmen and carrots,
Mittens and gloves,
Wellington boots,
I miss them lots.

But these are all memories,
Hidden far away,
And like a book,
Can be opened,
Day after day.

Now I have my own children,
And the present will be their memories,
I hope they will be as special as mine are,
Memories to draw on, when they’re women and men.

But where I had snow,
White Christmas and cold,
I wonder what they will remember,
And the places they will go.

As long as they remember ……. love,
Because that’s what I feel,
With my memories,
My childhood memories ……. love.

A great big ship was looming in my future,
That carried me across the seas,
But my family was with me,
So my memories stayed behind.
Still ……. I brought them with me. A ten year old child.’

British Post Box in Winterphotos courtesy of http://www.all-free-download.com

2 thoughts on “‘Childhood Memories of England’ in “Fragrance from the Spring””

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through Poetry Cottage.

