JESUS, MAY I, YOUR SUNFLOWER BE (A Song for When Joy is Lacking)

beautiful sunflower hd picture 3

When days, they cast long shadows
And my heart ‘tis feeling blue
Cradle my face in Your hands, dear Lord
Turn my face as the sunflowers do

Yes, as the golden petals
Cannot bare to miss the sun
May I trust and obey Your glory
And throughout every day, the dark shun

Chorus
Jesus, may I, Your sunflower be
You’ve cradled my face so tenderly
Oh! Oh! Jesus, Your sunflower be
Forever, shining, brightly for Thee

And if the rays are hidden
I will follow and still see
Yes, behind clouds of doubt, division
The pureness of Your reality

Fill me Lord with so much joy
The shadows in me, diffuse
Strengthen the seeds of faith deep within
With You, it’s gain and nothing to lose

Chorus
Jesus, may I, Your sunflower be
You’ve cradled my face so tenderly
Oh! Oh! Jesus, Your sunflower be
Forever, shining, brightly for Thee

Standing midst fields of mercy
Arms reach out, are lifted high
With my brothers and sisters, I am
Apraising, ‘cause God has drawn me nigh

Bridge
Oh! Cradle my face
Lift me from this place
Of pain and uncertainty
In Your hands of love
Oh! Cradle my face
To reflect sweet heaven above
To reflect sweet heaven above

Chorus
Jesus, may I, Your sunflower be
You’ve cradled my face so tenderly
Oh! Oh! Jesus, Your sunflower be
Forever, shining, brightly for Thee

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

image courtesy of http://www.all-free-download.com

6 Comments »

  1. 1
    Debbie Says:

    This really blessed me, Liana! Thank you so much for listening to Jesus and writing these beautiful songs to comfort and encourage us!

    Like

  2. Ever notice how tall the sunflowers get to be…looking Son-ward?

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 5
    Kathleen Says:

    Beautiful. The Holy Spirit must hover over your thoughts continually. May we all be His sunflowers and shine brightly for Him. ~ Kathleen

    Like


RSS Feed for this entry

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through poetrycottage.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 442 other followers

