I’VE SET THE TABLE OF LOVE, DEAR LORD (A Song of Surrender)

15 Feb

I'VE SET THE TABLE OF LOVE, DEAR LORD
Candles burning brightly
Flowers laden with dew
I’ve set the table of love, dear Lord
In my heart where there’s room for two

Come take a seat beside me
This chair’s had Your name engraved
I just never recognized its meaning
Until, my heart, You mercifully saved

Chorus
I’m ready, I’m ready
No longer afraid to change
I’ve set the table of love, dear Lord
I’m ready to accept, accept and change

I’ve laid my all before You
And I pray You’ll never leave
Drink of my cup of love and praise, Lord
And cherish that I now believe

There’s much upon my heart, dear Lord
There’s much upon my heart
I’ve gathered all of my weaknesses, Lord
In Your strength lies a brand new start

Chorus
I’m ready, I’m ready
No longer afraid to change
I’ve set the table of love, dear Lord
I’m ready to accept, accept and change

Plates of anguish, cups of fear
Much to chew upon, You listen, You smile
I go on and on and on and on, sorry Lord
This banquet of mine might go for a while

And then the table’s emptied
And all has been revealed
You sweetly reach across, take my hand
Say You love me and that my future’s sealed

Chorus
I’m ready, I’m ready
No longer afraid to change
I’ve set the table of love, dear Lord
I’m ready to accept, accept and change

Upon the lacework of my emotions, Lord
You’ve opened this heart of stone
You’ve set Your place, filled the cup of salvation
And I know I’ll never again dine alone

O I’m ready, I’m ready
My heart’s ready, the time has come
My heart’s ready, it’s ready and now belongs to You
Jesus, my heart belongs to You

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

5 Responses to “I’VE SET THE TABLE OF LOVE, DEAR LORD (A Song of Surrender)”

  1. poetrycottage March 9, 2014 at 8:06 AM #

    Reblogged this on Song Lyrics From Love's Heart.

  2. justhappeneduponthis February 15, 2014 at 10:50 PM #

    We look forward to a wonderful Banquet of this sort. You have hit the joy of abandonment, of intimacy and of infilling in this one Liana. Excellent images at the Table. And quietly we have these wonderful trysts with the King for the asking.

    • poetrycottage February 16, 2014 at 8:16 AM #

      Thank you for such a lovely comment Doug … I treasure our friendship.

  3. nataliescarberry February 15, 2014 at 11:39 AM #

    Love this! Hope you’ve had a good day! Blessings, Natalie :)

    • poetrycottage February 16, 2014 at 8:47 AM #

      Thank you for your sweet visits to poetrycottage Natalie xxx

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through poetrycottage.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 327 other followers

