I WANT YOU BACK (A Song for the Grieving)

3 Feb

I WANT YOU BACK
Oh! My dearest, sweetest loved one
Why did you go away
Why couldn’t you hold my hand a little longer
Why couldn’t you just stay

You cannot understand my sorrow
This emptiness since you have left
The tears, they hide and pretend they’re dried up
But it’s this heart that’s dried up and bereft

Chorus
I want you back, I want you back
Sometimes the pain’s too much to bear
But then He washes my tears with His very own
And I know in Him you are still there

I cry for you, I cry for you
Each tear holds a sweet memory
And I know your smile will dry these tears
When we embrace in eternity

This rose has lost a petal
The fragrance, its perfume
This rose has lost its best friend
‘Cause the lily no longer blooms
This daisy has lost its sunshine
And joy has been crushed by the pain
Pain now washed by heaven’s tears
For its heart was taken too soon
Too soon, my love, too soon

Oh! My dearest, sweetest loved one
I know you were needed for the Lord’s renown
For without you, heaven’s glow would have grown dim
‘Cause there would have been one less jewel in His crown

Chorus
I want you back, I want you back
Sometimes the pain’s too much to bear
But then He washes my tears with His very own
And I know in Him you are still there

© 2014 Liana Wendy Howarth

4 Responses to “I WANT YOU BACK (A Song for the Grieving)”

  1. nataliescarberry February 3, 2014 at 12:18 PM #

    Another beautiful image and poem. It looks like a Souvenir de Malmaison rose which is one of my favorites. Blessings, Natalie :)

    Like

    • poetrycottage February 3, 2014 at 12:35 PM #

      It’s a beautiful rose in my front garden “Poetry” Korkitoek … one of my favourites :-).

      Like

  2. Skye @ Faith, Food and Friends February 3, 2014 at 11:39 AM #

    Truly beautiful!!

    Like

    • poetrycottage February 3, 2014 at 12:04 PM #

      Thanks dear Skye … praying it will touch hearts and bring His hope to fill any emptiness.

      Like

Thank you for your comment. Please be blessed as you read through poetrycottage.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 436 other followers

